English

Retirement: a new beginning

 

Companies are increasingly taking "end of career" seriously. Subject often considered non-priority, many difficulties could be avoided both for the company and for the future retirees themselves.

 

Retirement is sometimes a difficult stage: what life outside? The company has so far provided the structuring framework. The collaborator is part of a collective history where projects, deadlines, objectives to be achieved, stages, progress have been developed. She has, in principle, taken care to maintain her motivation and skills in the hope that the employee, in return, will give his best (unfavorable situations of stress or mistreatment are excluded here).

But retirement is the moment when the employee separates from this collective.

 

Discover your new aspirations

Upon retirement, a destabilizing, sometimes anxiety-provoking feeling, accompanied by a feeling of loss of identity appears. The signals testifying to its usefulness, its legitimacy and often its social status stop. It is individually that he must now face this change. He becomes solely responsible for structuring his time, goals and evaluation.

He must rediscover his singularity, reassess his own resources, know his new aspirations. The prospect of this autonomy for which he may not be prepared. The situation can therefore be anxiety-provoking for someone who is at the end of their career, especially if the environment makes them feel that they are "less needed".

 

Don't fall into the traps

Neglecting retirements or offering a "waiting" position entails many risks.

  • The prospect of retirement can have negative effects on a person's performance.
  • The dissociation of the future retiree can have a negative impact on his work environment and produce demobilization within a team.
  • The company also risks depriving itself of the benefits of accumulated experience and original skills - which in some cases can be transmitted at low cost.

Supporting retirements therefore means optimizing the contribution of future retirees and maintaining their commitment before departure. It also means being recognized as a company that takes care of all its employees (and not just the top talents in their thirties!). The company is attractive for young talents, for those who want to progress and on the senior market.


▶️ Are you retiring soon? Address the question of your project by highlighting your assets, your desires and your skills. Imagine a serene retirement. What does it look like? What strength can you build on to manage your retirement well?


In the midst of changes in work, the extension of working hours and the aging of the active population, the challenge of maintaining a good quality of life at work for seniors is becoming a priority. The company gains in efficiency by valuing experience while allowing end-of-career plans. For this, building a solid bridge between the generations is essential.

Français

La retraite : un nouveau départ

Les entreprises prennent de plus en plus au sérieux les « fins de carrière ». Sujet souvent jugé non-prioritaire, de nombreuses difficultés pourraient être évitées tant pour l’entreprise que pour les futurs retraités eux mêmes.

La retraite est parfois une étape difficile: quelle vie en dehors ? L’entreprise a fourni jusqu’ici le cadre structurant. Le collaborateur s'est inscrit dans une histoire collective où se sont élaborés les projets, les échéances, les objectifs à atteindre, les étapes, la progression. Elle a, en principe, veillé à entretenir sa motivation et ses compétences dans l’espoir que l’ employé, en retour, donnera son meilleur (les situations défavorables de stress ou de maltraitance sont exclues ici).

Mais la retraite, c’est le moment où l’employé se sépare de ce collectif.

 

Découvrir ses nouvelles aspirations

Au départ à la retraite, un sentiment déstabilisant, parfois anxiogène, assorti d’un sentiment de perte d’identité apparait. Les signaux témoignant de son utilité, de sa légitimité et souvent de son statut social s'arrêtent. C’est individuellement qu’il doit maintenant faire face à ce changement. Il devient seul responsable de la structuration de son temps, de ses objectifs et de son évaluation.

Il doit redécouvrir sa singularité, réévaluer ses ressources propres, connaitre ses nouvelles aspirations. La perspective de cette autonomie à laquelle il n’est peut être pas préparé. La situation peut donc être anxiogène pour celui qui est en fin de carrière surtout si l’environnement lui fait sentir que l’on a « moins besoin de lui».

 

Ne tombez pas dans les pièges

Négliger les départs à la retraite ou offrir un poste "d'attente" entraîne de nombreux risques.

  • La perspective de la retraite peut avoir des effets négatifs sur la performance de la personne.

  • La désolidarisation du futur retraité peut avoir une incidence négative sur son environnement de travail et produire de la démobilisation au sein d'une équipe.

  • L'entreprise risque par ailleurs de se priver des bénéfices d'une expérience accumulée et de compétences originales - qui dans certains cas peut être transmissible à faible coût.

Accompagner les départs en retraite, c'est donc optimiser la contribution des futurs retraités et entretenir leur engagement avant le départ. C'est aussi être reconnu comme une entreprise qui prend soin de tous ses employés ( et pas seulement des tops talents trentenaires !). L'entreprise est attractive pour les jeunes talents, pour ceux qui veulent évoluer et sur le marché des séniors.

▶️ Vous partez bientôt à la retraite ? Abordez la question de votre projet en faisant ressortir vos atouts, vos envies et vos compétences. Imaginez une retraite en toute sérénité. Cela ressemble à quoi ? Sur quelle force pouvez-vous bâtir pour bien gérer votre départ à la retraite ?

 

En pleine mutation du travail, l’allongement de la durée du travail et le vieillissement de la population active, l'enjeu du maintien d’une bonne qualité de vie au travail pour les seniors devient une priorité. L'entreprise gagne en efficacité en valorisant l'expérience tout en permettant des plans de fin de carrière. Pour cela, construire un pont solide entre les générations est primordial.