English

The leader whisperer

Without Robert Redford ...

 

What if we could learn from animals? Equicoaching is a training to boost the performance and the fluidity of its leadership thanks to horses. This technique is based on cognitive neuroscience, neurobiological mechanisms related to cognition (perception, motor skills, language, memory, emotions, etc.)

But how does it work exactly? We had heard of it before. However, we never took action. The real impact for businesses seemed unclear to us. We have to admit: we were skeptical.


One morning, a client asks us for an equicoaching experience in order to integrate her into a change management program in her company. This is how Caroline, co-founder of iNNERSHiP, and Kim, co-founder of video game studio Affordance, decide to live this experience.

The adventure begins at Wasabi Coaching, in the Laurentians in Quebec. The horses are free there. Horses are prey animals. For their safety, they stay in herds. Quickly, it is easy to understand that each horse has a well-defined role within the group.

 

Exercises are easier said than done

The exercises are chosen according to the audience and the objective. The operation of the exercises seems simple but the participants fail very quickly. Why ? The reasons are unique to each.

  • Deconcentration
  • Listening problem
  • Willingness to do too well and non-alignment
  • Embarrassment, fear...

Stakes arise with every move and decision. We have to succeed in setting our limits with a horse that does not speak its language, and make it understand our needs. How to make him do a course in freedom when he does not know us?

The challenge is significant and becomes more complicated as a team because each participant expresses a very different style of leadership. Step by step, we target our difficulties and find solutions to make ourselves understood. We develop new techniques adapted to you for the horse and his team. Instructions or feedback no longer only pass through words. The exercises are revealing!

 
 

 

The horse is a magnifying mirror of your authenticity

The horse will first "analyze" then question your presence, your self-confidence, your courage, your intentions and your communication. They have a hypersensitivity allowing them to detect any signal of danger within a radius of 4 km. The immediate reaction of the horses allows us to reposition ourselves. They react like an immediate lie detector if something is holding the leader back or is out of alignment.

They sense, well before us, any inconsistency in our attitude or our intentions. Like a magnifying glass, they verify the authenticity of his sidekick.

It is therefore an opportunity to learn as a team the different types of leadership within horses, the impact of its non-verbal language and the power of authenticity. We can never repeat it enough: taking a step back and questioning yourself allows you to develop, to find meaning in order to finally be able to feel more committed to your work. This day of equicoaching is a journey of discovery to reveal one's nature as a leader and the impact one can have on others and on oneself.

 

IMG_0519 📷 Christophe Verhelst

Français

Le leader qui murmurait à l'oreille des chevaux

Et si nous pouvions apprendre des animaux ? L’équicoaching est une formation pour booster la performance et la fluidité de son leadership grâce aux chevaux. Cette technique est basée sur les neurosciences cognitives, des mécanismes neurobiologiques en lien avec la cognition (perception, motricité, langage, mémoire, émotions …)

Mais comment cela fonctionne t’il exactement ? Nous en avions déjà entendu parler. Pourtant, nous n’étions jamais passés à l’action. L’impact réel pour les entreprises nous semblait flou. Il faut l'avouer : nous étions sceptiques.

Un matin, une cliente nous demande une expérience d’équicoaching en vue de l’intégrer à un programme d’accompagnement du changement dans son entreprise. C'est comme cela que Caroline, co-fondatrice iNNERSHiP, et Kim, co-fondatrice du studio de jeux vidéo Affordance, décident de vivre cette expérience.

L’aventure commence chez Wasabi Coaching, dans les Laurentides au Québec. Les chevaux y sont en liberté.

Les chevaux sont des animaux de proie. Pour leur sécurité, ils restent en troupeau. Rapidement, il est facile de comprendre que chaque cheval a un rôle bien défini au sein du groupe.

Des exercices plus faciles à dire qu'à faire

Les exercices sont choisis en fonction de l'audience et de l'objectif. Le fonctionnement des exercices parait simple mais les participants échouent très vite. Pourquoi ? Les raisons sont propres à chacun. 

  • Déconcentration
  • Problème d'écoute
  • Volonté de trop bien faire et non-alignement
  • Gêne, peur ...

Des enjeux surviennent à chaque mouvement et prise de décision. Il faut réussir à poser ses limites avec un cheval qui ne parle pas son langage, et lui faire comprendre notre besoin. Comment lui faire faire un parcours en liberté alors qu’il ne nous connait pas ? 

Le challenge est de taille et se complique en équipe car chaque participant exprime un style de leadership bien différent. Étape par étape, nous ciblons nos difficultés et trouvons des solutions pour se faire comprendre. On développe de nouvelles techniques adaptées à soi pour le cheval et son équipe. Les consignes ou les feedback ne passent plus uniquement par la parole. Les exercices sont révélateurs !

Le cheval est un miroir grossissant de votre authenticité

Le cheval va tout d’abord "analyser" puis questionner ta présence, ta confiance en toi, ton courage, tes intentions et ta communication. Ils ont une hypersensibilité leur permettant de détecter tout signal de danger dans un rayon de 4 km. La réaction immédiate des chevaux nous permet de nous repositionner. Ils réagissent comme un détecteur de mensonge immédiat si quelque chose freine le leader ou n’est pas aligné.

Ils sentent, bien avant nous, toute incohérence dans notre attitude ou nos intentions. Comme une loupe, ils vérifient l’authenticité de son acolyte.

C'est donc l'occasion d'apprendre en équipe les différents types de leadership au sein des chevaux, l'impact de son langage non verbal et le pouvoir de l'authenticité. On ne le répétera jamais assez : prendre du recul et se questionner permet de se développer, de trouver du sens pour pouvoir enfin se sentir plus engagé dans son travail. Cette journée d'équicoaching est un voyage de découvertes pour révéler sa nature de leader et l'impact que l'on peut avoir sur les autres et sur soi-même.

 

IMG_0491 📷 Christophe Verhelst